The next wave of Saskatchewan Junior Hockey League prospects only have about two weeks left before draft day. Shifting focus to the off-season, on Monday the league announced their 2024 draft day, set to take place on June 11 at 3:00 PM.

WestCentralOnline caught up with commissioner Kyle McIntyre after his trip to the Centennial Cup in Oakville, Ontario. When asked about the upcoming draft, McIntyre shared they have another full production on the way for SJHL fans to enjoy.

"That's going to be on all the SJHL social channels." said McIntyre, continuing on about the draft. "It will be two rounds of 2009 born players drafted, and then six rounds of 2008 players that will be drafted."

As with any draft, the main goal is to load a team's player pipeline with prospective talent. According to the SJHL release, five first-round picks from the Under-16 portion of the 2023 SJHL Draft (2007s) made their debut for their respective clubs a year ago, while 14 players from the 2022 Draft have since become SJHL regulars.

"The idea behind it is that hopefully some of these young prospects and players will find themselves playing on an SJHL team in the future." said McIntyre. "It's a really exciting day for players and families, and for our SJHL teams. We are really looking forward to it. It's really one our showcase, anchor events throughout the year." he finished, talking about the importance of the big day.

Draft order, pending trades, will be determined by the 2023-2024 SJHL regular season standings, in reverse order.

Here is that draft order, subject to change as teams may have already, or will trade picks.

  1. Notre Dame Hounds
  2. La Ronge Ice Wolves
  3. Yorkton Terriers
  4. Nipawin Hawks
  5. Kindersley Klippers
  6. Estevan Bruins
  7. Weyburn Red Wings
  8. Melville Millionaires
  9. Battlefords North Stars
  10. Humboldt Broncos
  11. Melfort Mustangs
  12. Flin Flon Bombers

To be eligible for the U15 draft players must be Saskatchewan residents, from outside the 12 SJHL markets, and previously un-drafted. Most players will be selected from either the SAAHL, SAAAHL, as well as the Canadian Secondary School Hockey League (CSSHL).

The online broadcast will be led by SJHL Co-Directors of Media Clark Munroe and Jamie Neugebauer live from the IKS Media studios in Regina. Communications member Rory McGouran will be helping out with interview and analysis, and getting the picks to social media as they come in will be none other than Kindersley's Connor Tate with Creative Eleven.