Communities around Humboldt will soon benefit from Saskatchewan's Provincial Traffic Safety Fund.

Sixty-five projects within 62 communities were approved for Provincial Traffic Safety Fund Grants. Communities will receive grants ranging from $1,396 to $100,000 for a total of $1,033,132.

The RM of Humboldt is one of the recipients, with the installation of Humboldt Lake Speed Signs. Other recipients around the Humboldt area include:

  • Village of Jansen
  • Keeseekoose First Nation
  • Village of Viscount
  • Town of Watrous

Funding will help install signs at intersections and school zones to help improve pedestrian safety in rural, urban, and Indigenous communities across the province. 

"I'd like to thank all communities for submitting applications, and for their commitment to safety in our province," Minister Responsible for SGI Don Morgan said. "I'm pleased we're able to support an additional 65 projects to increase traffic and pedestrian safety across Saskatchewan."

Grants are awarded to communities twice a year, by using proceeds from Photo Speed Enforcement. 

A total of 557 community traffic safety projects have been funded, totaling more than $7.2 million, since the Provincial Traffic Safety Fund was established in 2019, says a Government release. 

Eligible traffic safety initiatives must focus on one of the following priority areas: speeding, impaired driving, distracted driving, occupant protection, or intersection safety. 

A release says that applications are reviewed by a committee made up of representatives from the Saskatchewan Urban Municipalities Association, the Saskatchewan Association of Rural Municipalities, the Prince Albert Grand Council, the Saskatchewan Association of Chiefs of Police, the Ministry of Justice, the Ministry of Highways and SGI. 

The Provincial Traffic Safety Fund Grant Program is now accepting applications for the next round of funding. The deadline is March 31, 2023. More information can be found here

A list of recipients can be found below.