Conexus Credit Union has been the title sponsor for the Conexus Humboldt Broncos Memorial Golf Tournament for five years. The 5th Annual Edition is slated for August 5 and 6, along with the long awaited SJHL Hall of Fame Induction Banquet and the Hunter Brothers Concert. 

The long term relationship has become important to both organizations. For Conexus, it’s part of their desire to be engaged with the community, says Humboldt Centre manager, Tammy Ward. 

“Conexus has had a long term relationship with the Broncos through the good times and through the dark times,” says Ward, “So supporting the Memorial Golf Tournament is a way for us to help raise funds for scholarships, and also spend time with the families and honour the people that we lost and those impacted through the accident.”

For co-host Brian Munz, that relationship is equally crucial.

“It’s huge. Events like this don’t happen without corporate support like we’ve had with Conexus and with all of our sponsors since day one. I think it’s a continuation from both sides where it’s been tremendous for everybody involved.”

Munz, a Humboldt native and former Broncos broadcaster, says he and NHL coach Jared Bednar look at it as a way to give back to their home communities. 

It’s much the same for Laurie Warford, long time organizer with the tournament. Warford says the tournament is essential in providing the means for scholarships and bursaries to be distributed to deserving recipients.

“All of the awards are based around Coach Darcy Haugan’s core covenant, which is a very important factor of the whole program,” Warford explains. “We support them through various non-profit organizations, to students and to various memorial projects that are going on.”

Tickets for the SJHL Hall of Fame Banquet are still available by emailing Luminaries being inducted include Bob Beatty, Jared Bednar, Dean Brockman, Sheldon Brookbank, Wade Brookbank, Kelly Chase, Chris Cuthbert, Curt Giles, Elgar Petersen, Brett Stewart and the 2007/08 Humboldt Broncos National Junior “A” Championship team.