Greater Saskatoon Catholic Schools (GSCS) operates St. Dominic and St. Augustine Schools in Humboldt and jointly operates Humboldt Collegiate under an agreement with the Horizon School Division. On November 6, GSCS held its annual organizational meeting where the board selects a chair, vice-chair and trustees to represent the board on a variety of committees. Diane Boyko was re-elected chair of the board. Ron Boechler was reelected vice-chair. 

Fr. Stefano Penna, pastor at St. Paul’s Co-Cathedral and bishop’s delegate for the school division’s trustees and senior executives, led a prayer and commissioning service for trustees. He stated that, as disciples of Jesus—in addition to their role as elected officials—trustees have an authority to lead. He also challenged trustees to sanctify (to make holy) all aspects of their life.

“I am blessed to be at the board table with such gifted people,” said Boyko. “Our work together makes us stronger, and we’re blessed to be able to live our faith as we serve families who entrust us with the care and education of their children.

With 50 schools and over 22,000 students, Greater Saskatoon Catholic Schools is Saskatchewan’s largest Catholic school division, providing Catholic education from pre-kindergarten through Grade 12 in Saskatoon and area, Biggar, Humboldt, Martensville and Warman.