The slate is set for this year’s SaskTel Tankard to be held in Estevan, and a couple of those teams are of local note. Both Team Dallan Muyres and Team Dustin Kalthoff will be making an appearance to compete for the chance to represent the province at the Brier. Both teams emerged from the C side at this past weekend’s Last Chance playdown held in Tisdale. The final four teams fill out the roster for the provincial competition at Affinity Place Arena in Estevan from February 1-5. Winners of that event will head to the 2023 Tim Hortons Brier in London, ON March 3-12. 

Team Kalthoff, with Humboldt born skip Dustin Kalthoff, features Humboldt’s Braden Fleischhacker, Jayden Bindig from Foam Lake and Nathen Pomedli from Wadena. Dallan Muyres, freshly back to the skip’s position this year, works with Foam Lake’s Garret Springer, import Jordan Tardi, and Wadena’s Dustin Mikush. Both teams curl out of Saskatoon.

The two teams duked it out during the weekend on the A side with the Muyres squad narrowly defeating the Kalthoff foursome. Martensville’s Logan Ede sent Muyres to the B side. The Muyres squad ended up with a last life in the C event but played tough, down three to come back in eight with a three ender against Josh Bryden. Muyres and crew then stole their way to a 9-6 victory to secure their spot. 

Meanwhile, Kalthoff’s crew was seeking revenge on the Sutherland team who earlier sent Kalthoff into the C event. This time, the Kalthoff foursome made quick work of Sutherland, dispatching them after a four ender in eight with a 9-3 victory.

Team Ede came out on the A side, while Josh Heidt emerged from the B event to make the final foursome. Those four teams will join the following eight who had previously qualified. 

Curling Canada's CTRS:

1. Team Flasch (Nutana - Saskatoon)

2. Team Knapp (Highland - Regina)

3. Team Kleiter (Nutana - Saskatoon)

4. Team K. Hartung (Sutherland - Saskatoon)

SaskCTRS Leaderboard:

5. Team Carss (Nutana - Saskatoon)

6. Team Laycock (Swift Current)

7. Team Bernath (Sutherland - Saskatoon)

8. Team Jacobson (Nutana - Saskatoon)