Horizon School Division’s Board of Education will see a new face representing one of its districts, while a pair of familiar faces will continue in their current positions. 

The School Division announced the resignation of Edward Bitternose, Board Trustee for Subdivision 11, which includes a coterminous boundary with George Gordon First Nation. George Gordon students attend George Gordon Education Centre along with Raymore School, Punnichy Elementary Community School, and Punnichy Community High School. 

“It is with great regret that the Board has accepted Edward’s resignation,” said Jim Hack, Board Chair. “Horizon has benefited greatly from his knowledge, his dedication to public education, and his guidance on Truth and Reconciliation.” Bitternose, who has served as Subdivision 11 Trustee since 2020, is a Knowledge Keeper and member of the George Gordon First Nation. 

Horizon will administer a by-election for the Subdivision 11 vacancy and will coordinate details with Chief Byron Bitternose of George Gordon First Nation. The by-election date will be March 1, 2023. Information including nomination packages, deadlines, and polling locations will be made available in the schools, communities, media, and online. 

Meanwhile, Board Chair Jim Hack and Vice-Chair Linda Mattock were the sole nominees for their incumbent roles. The Horizon School Division announced in a press release that the acclamations were made at the Division Board’s organizational meeting on November 16. 

Jim HackJim Hack

“It is very humbling to be acclaimed as Board Chair, and it is an honour to be part of this team. I look forward to continuing our important work in supporting Horizon's stakeholders, most importantly the students,” said Hack, who has served as Board Chair for Horizon School Division since 2011. He also serves as the Subdivision 10 Trustee, which includes Ituna School, New Horizon Hutterian School, Foam Lake Composite School, and Foam Lake Elementary School. 

Linda MattockLinda Mattock

Mattock has served as Vice-Chair since 2018 and her subdivision, Subdivision 2, includes Humboldt Collegiate Institute, Humboldt Public School, Lake Lenore School, St. Brieux School, Annaheim School, and Three Lakes School in Middle Lake.

 “I wish to thank my fellow trustees for their support. I am honoured to serve you and the students of Horizon as ViceChair of the Board, and I look forward to many great things to come,” said Mattock. 

Horizon's Board of Education is made up of 14 publicly-elected trustees representing as many subdivisions. The organizational meeting is held each calendar year in accordance with the Education Act. At this meeting, trustees determine table officers, discuss indemnity, incidental rates and other organizational items.