Premier Scott Moe engaged in a little pre-summer cabinet shuffling on May 31 as five MLA’s with previous cabinet postings found themselves with new portfolios. Lieutenant Governor Russ Mirasty swore in the new members of cabinet whose numbers remain at 18. 

"Never before has Saskatchewan had such an opportunity at a global level to grow our exports, our industries and our economy," Moe said.  "Saskatchewan has among the most sustainable resources in the world, and this growth results in better services, programs and opportunities for Saskatchewan people."

The Five MLA’s receiving new postings include:

  • Jim Reiter becomes Minister of Energy and Resources.

  • Bronwyn Eyre becomes Saskatchewan's first-ever female Minister of Justice and Attorney General.

  • Gordon Wyant becomes Minister of Advanced Education. 

  • Gene Makowsky becomes Minister of Social Services.

  • Lori Carr becomes Minister of SaskBuilds and Procurement, Minister Responsible for the Public Service Commission, and Minister Responsible for Saskatchewan Liquor and Gaming Authority.  

Two MLAs will enter cabinet for the first time. Jeremy Cockrill will take on the Highways portfolio with responsibility for the Water Security Agency. Dana Skoropad gets the nod as Minister of Environment. 

Ten MLA’s will remain with their current portfolios, most notably Humboldt-Watrous member Donna Harpauer who will continue in the roles of Deputy Premier and Finance Minister. Others include:

  • Don Morgan remains Minister of Crown Investments Corporation and becomes Minister responsible for all major crown corporations, including SaskEnergy, SGI, SaskPower, SaskTel, SaskGaming and SaskWater.  Morgan remains Minister of Labour Relations and Workplace Safety and Minister Responsible for the Saskatchewan Workers' Compensation Board.

  • Dustin Duncan remains Minister of Education.

  • Christine Tell remains Minister of Corrections, Policing and Public Safety.  

  • Jeremy Harrison remains Minister of Trade and Export Development and Minister of Immigration and Career Training, Minister Responsible for Innovation Saskatchewan and Minister Responsible for Tourism Saskatchewan.

  • David Marit remains Minister of Agriculture and Minister Responsible for Saskatchewan Crop Insurance Corporation.

  • Paul Merriman remains Minister of Health.

  • Don McMorris remains Minister of Government Relations, Minister Responsible for First Nations, Métis and Northern Affairs, and Minister Responsible for the Provincial Capital Commission.

  • Laura Ross remains Minister of Parks, Culture and Sport, and Minister Responsible for the Status of Women.

  • Everett Hindley remains Minister of Mental Health and Addictions, Seniors and Rural and Remote Health.  

A new Sustainable Growth Secretariat will be established in Executive Council within the Premier's oversight under his existing responsibility for Intergovernmental Affairs. 

"Not only does Saskatchewan have the food, fuel and fertilizer the world needs but our province is also home to the helium, lithium, copper, zinc, and rare earth minerals that will only be in increasing global demand into the future," Moe said.