The Saskatchewan Government has announced the recipients of the Saskatchewan Lieutenant Governor Indigenous Scholarship, and the recipient is a scholar from Yellow Quill First Nation.  

Jeremy Irvine, a graduate student pursuing a Master of Science degree in Plant Science from the University of Saskatchewan, is the 2024 award winner. Jeremy’s research will focus on the evaluation of yield damage caused by the lesser clover leaf weevil in red clover seed production in Saskatchewan. The information gathered is expected to help reduce input costs for growers and environmental harm caused by redundant pesticide applications. 

"Being selected for the Saskatchewan Lieutenant Governor Indigenous Scholarship is an honour and validation of my dedication to academic excellence and research," Irvine said. "Receiving this prestigious scholarship fills me with immense gratitude, not only for the opportunity it presents, but also for the unwavering support of my friends, family and community - Yellow Quill First Nation. Their encouragement and belief in my aspirations have been a constant strength throughout my academic journey."   

Also announced was the recipient of the Saskatchewan Lieutenant Governor Scholarship for 2024-25, Laura Jenan Schnell. She is pursuing Ph.D. studies in Microbial Genetics and Toxin Production from the University of Regina. Microbial Genetics and Toxin Production from the University of Regina. Her research focuses on the quality of recreational, agricultural and drinking water in Saskatchewan. 

"I am honoured to receive this scholarship," Schnell said. "This award means that I can focus on my research developing genetic technologies to track harmful bacteria in Saskatchewan without financial stress. Receiving this award renews my motivation to grow as a scientist and continue striving for excellence in research that can benefit Saskatchewan."   

"It is an honour that the name of these scholarships now includes 'Lieutenant Governor', which previously commemorated Queen Elizabeth II," Lieutenant Governor Russ Mirasty said. "I am very pleased that this program will continue to provide substantial funds to hard-working Saskatchewan students. Congratulations to this year's recipients on their well-earned recognition." 

Each scholarship is awarded annually to graduate or post-graduate students who are in excellent academic standing and pursuing studies in Saskatchewan, and whose research supports Saskatchewan's Growth Plan.