In honour of the 50th anniversary of the Superannuated Teachers of Saskatchewan STS) and the Humboldt and District Chapter of the STS, the Humboldt and area group is offering a $1000 scholarship to support students entering the profession. The award will be granted to a local student entering the final year of a Bachelor of Education Program. The Scholarship is supported by a $500 grant from the provincial STS.  

The student must demonstrate a commitment to the education of young people, have attended high school in the district and demonstrate academic excellence. To be eligible, the prospective recipient must have attended one of the following schools: Annaheim School, Englefeld School, Humboldt Collegiate Institute School, Lake Lenore School, Lanigan Central High School, LeRoy School, Muenster School, St. Brieux School, Three Lakes School, Viscount Central School or Watson School. 

In addition, the Humboldt and District Chapter of the STS has laid out the following criteria: 

· Must be in their final year of studies for a Bachelor of Education. 

· Must show exemplary leadership in the education of young people. 

· Must prove academic success at the university level. 

The deadline for applications is Wednesday, November 30. For more details, applicants are invited to contact Shirley Goodrich at (306) 231-7321 or