Starting in January, there will be four new faces at the Sask Canola Board table.

 Anthony Eliason of Outlook,  and Jonathan Fehr of Herschel are acclaimed for four-year terms. 

While Margaret Rigetti of Langbank and Ed Schafer of Makwa have been appointed for two-year terms.

The four individuals will begin their terms following Sask Canola's Annual General Meeting on Tuesday, January 10th in Saskatoon. 

Sask Canola provided the following bio's for the four new directors.

Anthony Eliason farms with his family near Outlook, Saskatchewan. He earned an agronomy degree from the University of Saskatchewan and a heavy-duty mechanics certificate from Olds College. Due to the availability of irrigation and a range of soils, he grows a mix of crops that includes canola, wheat, peas and flax. Eliason previously served on the Board of the Irrigation Crop Diversification Corporation (ICDC) in Outlook.  

Jon Fehr brings both farming expertise and grain industry experience to his Board role. He worked for 18 years in the grain handling industry. With a focus on maintaining farm profitability while making sound agronomic decisions, he grows canola, pulses, cereal, grains and hay with his family near Herschel, Saskatchewan. Fehr attended SaskCanola’s Learn to Lead program in spring 2022.

Margaret Rigetti farms near Langbank, Saskatchewan where she grows winter wheat, spring wheat, barley and canola in partnership with her brother and cousin. Her main roles include grain marketing, risk management, finance and accounting. She earned her BSc in agriculture from the University of Saskatchewan. Rigetti is a past director of the Western Canadian Wheat Growers Association and Grain Growers of Canada.

Ed Schafer spent five years working in the crop protection industry prior to transitioning to farming full-time in 2002. He graduated with a degree in agronomy from the University of Saskatchewan. Schafer currently grows seed canola, wheat, peas, barley and oats with his wife in Makwa, Saskatchewan. He previously served as president of the Canadian Canola Growers Association (CCGA).